Agenda for 50th Anniversary Symposium and Users Meeting

The agenda is also available in indico; presentation files will be available in indico starting June 7.

Wednesday, June 7: Anniversary Symposium

Session 1: 8:30-10:20 a.m.

8:30 a.m.: Welcome
Nigel S. Lockyer, Director, Fermilab
Michael Weis, Manager, Department of Energy Fermi Site Office
Eric D. Isaacs, Executive Vice President for Research, Innovation and National Laboratories, University of Chicago
Marta Cehelsky, Executive Director, Universities Research Association

8:45: a.m.: Origins of Fermilab
Panel discussion led by Valerie Higgins, Fermilab, and Adrienne Kolb, Fermilab, retired
Giorgio Bellettini, University and INFN, Pisa
Victor Matveev, Director, JINR
John Peoples, Director Emeritus, Fermilab
Alvin Tollestrup, Fermilab

9:10 a.m.: Fixed-target experiments
Heidi Schellman, Oregon State University

9:40 a.m.: An international laboratory at the frontier
Panel discussion led by Marcela Carena, Fermilab
Gregorio Bernardi, Director, LPNHE Paris
Daniela Bortoletto, University of Oxford
Ronald Shellard, Director, CBPF Rio de Janeiro
Stefan Söldner-Rembold, University of Manchester
Masa Yamauchi, Director-General, KEK

Coffee break: 10:20–10:45 a.m.
Session 2: 10:45 a.m.-12:45 p.m.

10:45 a.m.: Theoretical physics at Fermilab
André de Gouvêa, Northwestern University

11:15 a.m.: Superconducting magnets at Fermilab
Peter Limon, Fermilab, retired

11:45 a.m.: Computing innovations
Oliver Gutsche, Fermilab

12:15 p.m.: Fermilab technology and innovation 
Panel discussion led by Norbert Holtkamp, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, and Farah Fahim, Fermilab
Marcel Demarteau, Argonne National Laboratory
Donna Kubik, Fermilab
Hugh Montgomery, Director Emeritus, Jefferson Lab
Ralph Pasquinelli, Fermilab, retired

Lunch: 12:45–2 p.m.
Session 3: 2-3:30 p.m.

2 p.m.: Perspective from the Department of Energy Office of Science

2:20 p.m.: Astrophysics
Alex Drlica-Wagner, Fermilab

2:50 p.m.: Hadron-collider physics
Panel discussion led by Fabiola Gianotti, Director-General, CERN
Cecilia Gerber, University of Illinois at Chicago
Young-Kee Kim, University of Chicago
Luciano Ristori, INFN Pisa and Fermilab
Darien Wood, Northeastern University

Coffee break: 3:30-4 p.m.
Session 4: 4-6 p.m.

4 p.m.: Fifty years of success for superconducting RF
Hasan Padamsee, Cornell University

4:20 p.m.: Future muon experiments
Brendan Kiburg, Fermilab

4:40 p.m.: Current and future neutrino experiments
Angela Fava, Fermilab

Keynote address: 5:20-6 p.m.

Shirley Ann Jackson, President, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Shirley Ann Jackson spent time in Fermilab’s theory department early in her career before moving on to a distinguished career that includes senior leadership positions in academia, government, industry and research. She holds an S.B. in physics and a Ph.D. in theoretical particle physics, both from MIT. She is the first African-American woman to receive a doctorate from MIT — in any field — and has been a trailblazer throughout her career, including as the first African-American woman to lead a top-ranked research university.

Reception in Wilson Hall Atrium: 6-8 p.m.

Thursday, June 8: Annual Users Meeting

Morning I: 9:00-10:20 a.m.

9:00 a.m.: Welcome from the Users Executive Committee
Ed Kearns, Boston University

9:10 a.m.: R&D at Fermilab
Petra Merkel, Fermilab

9:35 a.m.: URA Thesis Award ceremony
Marta Cehelsky, URA

9:40 a.m.: URA Thesis Award talk: “Neutrino flux predictions for the NuMI beam”
Leonidas Aliaga Soplin, Fermilab

10 a.m.: MINERvA
Jiyeon Han, University of Pittsburgh

10:10 a.m.: MINOS+
Adam Aurisano, University of Cincinnati

Coffee break: 10:20-10:50 a.m.
Morning II: 10:50 a.m.-12:15 p.m.

10:50 a.m.: DUNE
Ed Blucher, University of Chicago

11:10 a.m.: Mu2e
Daniel Ambrose, University of Minnesota

11:30 a.m.: Accelerator
Ioanis Kourbanis, Fermilab

11:55 a.m.: Dark matter experiments
Amy Cottle, Fermilab

Lunch: 12:15-1:15 p.m.
Afternoon I: 1:15-2:45 p.m.

1:15 p.m.: Muon g-2
Jason Crnkovic, Brookhaven National Laboratory

1:40 p.m.: Director’s panel
Tim Meyer, Sowjanya Gollapinni, Sandra Charles, Laura Fields, Karen Kosky, Mayly Sanchez

2:20 p.m.: URA Tollestrup Award Ceremony
Alvin Tollestrup, Fermilab
Marta Cehelsky, URA

2:25 p.m.: URA Tollestrup Award Talk: “Boosting the dark: Light dijet resonances and dark matter”
Nhan V. Tran, Fermilab

Coffee break: 2:45-3:15 p.m.
Afternoon II: 3:15-6 p.m.

3:15 p.m.: Short-Baseline Neutrino Program
Anne Schukraft, Fermilab

3:40 p.m.: Theory – Lattice QCD at Fermilab
Ruth Van de Water, Fermilab

4:05 p.m.: Dark Energy Survey
Chihway Chang, ETH Zurich

4:25 p.m.: NOvA
Kanika Sachdev, Fermilab

4:50 p.m.: Cosmic microwave background and South Pole Telescope
Alexandra Rahlin, Fermilab

5:10 p.m.: CMS
Salvatore Rappoccio, University at Buffalo

5:40 p.m.: Computing at Fermilab
James Amundson, Fermilab

Young Scientist Poster Session: 6-8 p.m.

New Perspectives and Festa Italiana

Two complementary events will take place in advance of the symposium.

The annual New Perspectives workshop for graduate students, postdocs and undergrads gives early-career scientists an opportunity to present their work to an audience of peers. The workshop will take place on June 5 and 6 in Wilson Hall. The event is hosted by the Fermilab Student and Postdoc Association.

The annual Festa Italiana will take place on June 6 starting at 8 p.m. in the Fermilab Village, Kuhn Barn. The event is sponsored by the Fermilab Users Organization and the Cultural Association of Italians at Fermilab. Advance registration is required.

If you have questions about the Anniversary Symposium or Users Meeting, please contact